top of page
Recent Posts
Featured Posts

Bachelor project

This year I finished 4 years of my bachelor studies at Academy of Fine arts in Banska Bystrica. These 4 years was amazing jurney of finding myself as an artist, of meeting amazing people and learning lot of new things. I also realized that I really want to work with books and book design..that's why my final project was also THE book: Fóbie Light (Phobias Light) - handmade solar book.

A little about the project:


Fóbie Light (translate: Phobias Light), handmade solar book, is based on 15 short stories about the most bizarre phobias of the world written by 5 different authors. Illustrations in book are made specially to show two sides of phobias, the side from the point of view of non-phobic and the second point of view of phobic person. Book Fóbie Light helps to enlighten, how phobic persons look on ordinary objects, which scare them. To see complete illustration (non-phobic+phobic), the name of phobia and author of text you'll need to bring the book outside on natural UV light. The book was created in three variations: handmade (solar), printed (by using added mini UV light you can see hidden text) and electronic interactive flash aplication. These three variations were created to show the evolution of bookbinding.

OK a little more about the project :):

Why Phobias? Phobias because of my personal need to show how phobic persons see things which scares them, and how they can't rationally explain what their fear exactly is about. I personally have few phobias which limit my life, and when I tried to explain my fear, I realized it's almost impossible to do so, because non-phobic person can't see it throught your eyes and they see only the irational fear of something ordinary. Why Light? Light because of special color used to create phobic point of view illustration. I used photochromic color to create illustrations which show up only on natural UV light. Light also because of "light"- funny stories about phobias to lighten the heavy topic- Phobias. And also because this book enlightens the view on phobias from two sides: phobic and non-phobic.


Some photos from final presentation:


Some "Behind the scene" photos:

Archive
bottom of page